Despite the cold

They brought him down after sunset. It was November, and the cold was beginning to come. The wind blew, harsh against my bare shoulders. Despite the cold, I can remember his hands resting there. I looked at the soldiers, carrying him. Despite the cold, I could feel the warmth of my tears falling down my face. His body was still, his eyes closed. As if he were sleeping. I took his hand, and despite the cold, I swore I could feel warmth radiating from them. Just as his love radiated for me. But then, all at once, it all left, leaving me alone to the wind. Alone to the cold. But, despite the cold, I could feel my sadness and grief wash over me like a tidal wave, drowning me until i could no longer feel.

2 thoughts on “Despite the cold

Leave a Reply

